To new beginnings

Vegetarian breakfast fry-up
The first day of a brand new year always unfolds a fresh wave of optimism, hope, and excitement about the endless possibilities the next 12 months hold. 
At the stroke of midnight it feels as if your slate is magically wiped clean of any past grievances, opening the door to reinvention and new experiences. 

I’m not one for making new year’s resolutions.  I tend to set my goals and achievements as and when I am inspired to do so rather than at the beginning of the new year. However I do believe in having a clear mantra each year, which I use as point of inspiration to understand any key decisions, occurrences, or challenges I am faced with. Establishing my own philosophy based on pure intentions that I can relate to, helps me to become a more grounded (and hopefully honest) person. I would like to hope that with each mantra I set (and as the years go by and I get a little bit wiser!), I’ll be a step closer to understanding the universe and why it has led me to where I am at that point in time. 

To welcome 2011, I toasted with a nice glass of champagne (they do it in style in Dusseldorf!) to ‘new adventures and new chapters’. I knew 2011 would be a pivotal point in my life with my move to KL and turning 30, so everything I set out to do was with the intention of transformation and testing my comfort zone. And what an experience 2011 has been, to the extent that I had maybe just one too many adventures. This realisation kicked in after I was pulled over by a police car for running a red light (on justifiable grounds might I add) and an expired road tax all on the same night (not to mention mowing down my gate a couple of days beforehand).

So for 2012, I’m opting for a mantra that is perhaps a little less exciting but more appreciative of everything that is around me. For me, 2012 is about seeking positive energy and joyful moments in everything I do. Surrounding myself with positive people that can inspire laughter, a sense of understanding, and the tendency to see life with a ‘glass half full’ attitude will naturally bring out the best in me to acknowledge all the small moments that matter.    

As I opened my eyes for my first morning of 2012, I was thankful that I absolutely had no plans  – no runs, no yoga classes, errands, or commitments. It’s been a while since I’ve intentionally planned to have no plans. Usually when I don’t feel like doing anything, this is a forced response to having to recover from a big night out or sheer work exhaustion. When you have the luxury of time on your hands, one of the best ways to start the morning is preparing a long, self-rewarding breakfast that helps set the right tone and mood for the rest of day. My vegetarian breakfast fryup was extra special today as I prepared the meal with family in the kitchen. What was possibly more miraculous was the fact that my dad freely volunteered to eat something I had prepared when he normally shuns my cooking as hippie food. To appease him, I was slightly more decadent with my treatment of the portobello mushrooms, cherry tomatoes, and spinach (I don’t normally use a lot of butter or cream in my cooking). In this case, the richness of the herb butter on the portobello mushrooms was not overpowering and actually helped integrate and accentuate the flavours of the other ingredients. I absolutely love cherry tomatoes that have been slightly over roasted, where the slightest bite easily triggers an explosion of sweetness. So with family in the kitchen, lovely over roasted cherry tomatoes, and buttery portobello mushrooms, my 2012 is off to a positive and joyful start. 

Vegetarian breakfast fry up (portobello mushrooms with herb butter, cherry tomatoes & rosemary, spinach and scrambled eggs)

Basic ingredients
Portobello mushrooms, butter, mixed herbs (I use dried), cherry tomatoes, rosemary, spinach, garlic, eggs, sour cream, salt & pepper.

The joy begins with
1. For portobello mushrooms with herb butter – mash butter with mixed herbs and seasoning until the butter has quite a smooth consistency to make it easier to apply. Spread mixture into the portobello mushrooms (I actually like leaving the stalks on my mushrooms, especially in Malaysia when the size of portobello mushrooms are TINY!). 

2.  For the roasted cherry tomatoes & rosemary – halve cherry tomatoes and drizzle with olive oil, salt, and rosemary. Grill with the portobello mushrooms so that the juices from both have a chance to amalgamate (lovely to soak up with some bread!!). 
3. For the spinach – sauté garlic with olive oil. Add spinach and cook until the leaves have wilted, season. Before taking off the heat, add a tablespoon of sour cream to the pan and mix. 
4. Serve all of the above with scrambled eggs and toast. I poured the juices from the roasted vegetables onto the plate as well.
5. Appreciate the moment. 

Leave a Reply

